Book Challenges

pexels-photo-1166657.jpeg
Photo by Mikes Photos on Pexels.com

Last year, I blogged about how 2018 would be the year that I actually managed to complete a reading challenge.  Hmmm… this didn’t really work out as intended.  I managed 12/24 from the Book Riot Read Harder 2017 list which was 1 more than I’d managed in 2016 so I suppose I’m moving in the right direction.

My problem is that I tend to start these challenges really enthusiastically and then lose momentum generally quite quickly.  I also am quite a flighty reader and end up being drawn to other books rather than the categories on the list.
So… why do I keep attempting these challenges? What’s the point? Why not just read what I want?
Well, I like the idea underlying Read Harder- the idea of reading outside of my comfort zone and to diversify in terms of genres/authors and tend to think that a challenge would be the main way to achieve this.

So… will I be completing Read Harder or any other challenges this year?

I’m not sure.  I keep thinking ‘nah’ but then find myself drawn back to the list.  I don’t think I’ll complete the list.  I know I’ll lose interest partway through the year, but I wonder if I can keep improving my score year on year and see if I can get 13+ from the list.

Last year I also made two other ‘reading resolutions’:

– Continue to read as much MG and YA as I can
– To read diversely, actively seeking books featuring BAME, LGBTQ+ and disabled characters and those which are #ownvoices

How did I get on with these aims?
Well, out of 89 books read in 2018 (I didn’t count shorter picture books), 13 were ‘grown up’ books and the remaining were children’s literature including YA.  I did make an attempt to read more books featuring BAME, LGBTQ+ and disabled characters, and certainly read some #ownvoices books, but I’d really like to make this more of a focus in 2019.

I read less graphic novels and comics in 2018 than I did in 2017 so I’d like to return to these this year and I’d also like to focus more on horror literature (including spooky fiction for children).

I also intend to actually report back on my reading this year.  I’d really like to blog more- perhaps not always full reviews but conversational pieces and ‘genre’ pieces about what I’ve actually got up to with my reading.

Have you set any reading challenges or goals for 2019?

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I always look at the Read Harder challenge but I know myself, the best of intentions would still get me nowhere! 😂

    Like

    1. mrshbooks says:

      I’m going to sort of play it by ear this year. Keep the list close and see if anything I feel like reading fits the categories. Maybe I’ll improve on my 12/24!

      Like

Leave a comment