Interactive Fiction and Narrative Based Games

I wouldn’t say that I’m an avid gamer- I don’t even have a console. However, I wouldn’t call myself a casual gamer either. Partly because I play slightly more frequently than that term suggests and partly because the snobbish part of me doesn’t like the implications that term holds of freemium games like Candy Crush or Hay Day. (Don’t get me wrong- I’ve played my share of freemium games in the past but I’ve now moved past the phase of waiting a set amount of hours for a musical monster to hatch only to realise it’s a breed I already own!)
Despite a very soft spot for the Pokemon-esque Teeny Titans, my interest in games is mainly aimed at interactive fiction- experiences that blur the line between between gaming and reading.
I read a lot of children’s and young adult literature to keep up my subject knowledge for work.  I enjoy these books immensely but sometimes they become  linked in my mind with the idea of work.  At times like this, I need to read something totally different, something to help me totally escape.  Interactive fiction games often (not always) involve visuals and music or soundscapes which can help me become immersed in the narrative when I’m really tired.

I came to this genre relatively late, only a few years ago when I saw a game on the App Store called 80 Days. It was expensive for an app but sounded just up my street- it was based on classic literature but in the form of the Choose Your Own Adventure books I sometimes read as a child. Read a few paragraphs, make a choice, deal with the consequences. Basically it was like a book where I could have some control of the narrative. Plus the writing was just exquisite- the characterisation of Passepartout was spot on and the game was playful regarding Jules Verne’s original text but respectful of his vision and his characters. However, the main draw for me was that I could read it over and over again but not have to follow the same journey each time! I could journey with my new friends time and time again without knowing what was going to face us.
Since then I’ve tried a range of books that involve reading- choose your own adventure, parser games, puzzles etc. I’ve been playing these games for several years now and still feel that I have only just scratched the surface of what is available.  However,  if you are new to the genre and are curious about how a game could contribute to the reading experience, here are some good ones to try.  The following games are not suitable for young children and most have an age rating of 12+.

The Lifeline Series
These games are best played on your mobile phone (or, if you are lucky enough to have one, your smart watch). They work on the basis of text messages- you receive messages from someone in distress (an astronaut stranded in space or a detective solving an increasingly odd mystery) and give them advice. The innovative part of this is that the messages come in real-time: if they have to check whether a door is locked it may take half a minute before you receive the next message; if they go to sleep, you may need to wait up to 8 hours for the next message.  This really adds to the tension and mystery involved in the story- during my first of the Lineline games I got really excited when I received an update from my new friend, Taylor (although my husband was a little concerned about this person messaging me at all times!!)

Blackbar 
Blackbar is a dystopian text-based puzzler that deals with the idea of censorship.  The story is set in a totalitarian society and you have to work out the redacted words in the messages that you receive.  As the game progresses, more and more words are censored, meaning that you rely more and more on context and prior knowledge to solve the puzzles.  This ‘cloze text’ procedure style activity forces you to become more personally involved in the story that is unfolding.  The prequel, Grayout, is also worth a play too!

A Dark Room/The Ensign
A Dark Room is one of the most unusual games that I have played.  It starts with the description, ‘a dark room’ and the only option that the player has is one single button labelled ‘light fire’.  Gradually, more and more options become available- eg stoke fire, gather wood.  The text is simple but this means that changes in wording become incredibly important and give clues as to the underlying storyline of the game.  I don’t want to say much more than this as I just loved discovering the secrets behind ‘A Dark Room’ for myself.  If you enjoy this game, check out The Ensign too!

 

Florence
Florence plays more like an interactive walk-through graphic novel or movie than a game.  You don’t have any control over the narrative but engage in interactive activities and mini-puzzles that help to further the story.  Florence follows the life of the eponymous character, Florence Yeoh, as she meets a street musician called Krish and begins a relationship with him.  It’s a truly moving experience that gets to the heart of the different stages of relationships.

Sunless Sea
Sunless Sea is part survival game, part rogue-like, part text adventure.  It features an alternative Victorian London which has been moved below the surface of the Earth at the edge of a huge underground ocean called the Unterzee (the same world that the browser game Hidden London was set in).  You sail your boat around the Unterzee, trading, fighting other ships and creatures and making deals with the different inhabitants of the islands.  It’s certainly worth playing with the sound on because the music plays an important role in adding to the lonely sea-roaming atmosphere of the game.

My Child Lebensborn
Generally we choose to play games for fun or enjoyment.  This game is not a fun experience but it is incredibly moving and educational.  In it you adopt a Lebensborn child- a child of war with a Norwegian mother and occupying soldier father.  The people of the town are aware of the child’s background and are not supportive.  The game is an exploration of bullying, difficult parenting decisions and the political/cultural climate of Norway after the War.  This is not a light-hearted play but is a wonderful demonstration of what games are capable of.

What narrative and reading-based games do you play? What are your favourite narrative based games?

Leave a comment